Kerbloom! #87

Review by Sentaniz Palmer:

This zine, written by a woman, known as “Artnoose,” starts with the line “the first thing I remember wanting to be when I grew up was a dad.”  That unexpected line sets the tone for a funny, whimsical, and at times slightly sad and heartwarming story.  This was the first zine I ever read, and I didn’t really know what to expect, but my interest has definitely been piqued after reading it.  I enjoyed the memories and musings of a girl who wants to be a dad, an astronaut, a photographer, a rock star, and many other things throughout her adolescence.  For one thing, I can certainly relate to the idea of wanting to be pretty much everything under the sun, as I have often had to go through my mental grocery list of possible careers every time somebody asks me the dreaded question, “So, what do you want to be?”

As I said, I had no idea what to expect from this zine, or any other zine for that matter, but I guess I was surprised when I saw this zine, less than the size of half of a sheet of paper, with four pages in it, containing simply one short story.  One of the cool things about it, though, was that the author set the type for the zine by hand which means letter by letter, and actually ran out of lowercase “a”s for half of a page and had to use the uppercase instead, which I thought was a funny quirk.  So it seems like the labor-intensive nature of that process could account for the seemingly short length of the publication.  Even thought it took me about two minutes to read, I want to read more issues of this zine and see what this funny and smart author has to say!

Sentaniz Palmer

Review by Tori MacManus:
This zine details all the little stages of what the author wanted to be when she grew up, and she reached most of those goals in one way or another. It was funny and captivating and caught my attention with the first sentence – “The first thing I remember wanting to be when I grew up was a dad.” I also found it interesting that this zine was printed using a letterpress from 1909 in which the letters had to be hand-placed, so there were only a set number of each case of each letter. She actually ran out of lowercase A’s on one page.

Leave a Reply

