Adventures in Menstruating Zine Review

“Adventures in Menstruating!” Issue #3 Wartime Special was a very informative and comical Zine. I really enjoyed this zine and I was automatically captivated by the front cover which is very colorful and features a picture of Rosie the Riveter, who was a cultural icon of the United States, and she represented the American women who worked in factories during World War II. The front cover actually sets the scene and gives the reader a general idea of what the zine was going to be about.  Inside the zine I read some very good pieces of writing, but one in particular that caught my attention was called, “Blood Riot” the menstrual strip. It showed illustrations of a girl who had just started her period and her frustration with having to hide if from everybody. She’s confused about why she has to be ashamed for something that is natural, and I felt that this was a very good piece of writing.  The piece of Menopause the musical by Chella Quint was also very entertaining, she talked about the adventures she had with her friend Adele while preparing to go see Menopause the Musical. She also interviewed Adele who I assumed was much older than her and asked her to describe what it was like to go through menopause, so I felt that the interview was very informative.  There were wartime ads for Kotex brand pads that advertised how women could “Carry on In Comfort” if they bought Kotex Brand Pads and they would not have to worry about leaking. However, the one story that really caught my attention was by Sarah Thomasin. She talked about disguising tampons as things other than tampons. On one occasion she came across an ad that featured a female university student who’s boyfriend assumed that her tampon was a peppermint twist  because of the packaging and he place it inside his mouth. I think that this piece was extremely comical and I really enjoyed it.  This zine as a whole was very informative and it provided a comical twist. If I had to compare issue #3 to issue #5 which I previously reviewed I would say that I enjoyed both of them equally. Both zines provided important information and insight on the experiences during menstruation and menopause, and I look forward to reading more issues of “Adventures in Menstruating.”

– Violet Parks

Leave a Reply

