Things I’ve Lost, Things I’ve Found

things ive found

This zine confused me at first. Skimming through the piece from cover to cover, I noticed that in the middle of the zine, suddenly the pages flip, and I was reading upside down. Then the light bulb went off, and I realized that this was a two-part zine, one side dedicated to the things that the writer, Katie Haegele, has lost; the other side is also dedicated to discussing the things that she has found throughout her life. Once I understood what I was dealing with, I started reading about the things found. Final verdict: I really like this zine! I like that it is thematic without being campy, the illustrations (by Helen Entwisle) are spot on and great for the character and feel of this zine, and I absolutely love the realness of Katie as a character in her piece.

One of my favorite scenes in the zine was in “Things Found.” Katie tells the reader about the time when she found a leather chair with wheels outside a church. The narrative is quite funny:

“I stepped over the low chain strung across the gap in the fence and went over to the chair and stroked its back, the leather-looking plastic that was punctuated with two buttons. For an old chair it looked fine and –I gave it a sniff–it smelled fresh.

I started to push it onto the sidewalk to take it home, then immediately stopped. The chair’s hard wheels on the bumpy pavement sounded like a tank rolling down the street, and the neighborhood was as quiet as a cemetery. I’d just have to push it as fast as I could and get out of there. When I realized I was having to run to keep up with the chair I thought: Why don’t I just ride it home? I rolled it onto the blacktop of the road, sat down, and started pushing like you do on a skateboard only I used both my feet, and there I went, sailing noisily down the middle of the road int he middle of the night.”

Written on a typewriter, every few lines or so, the reader sees where the author made a typographical error, or where the page shifts within the reel of the typewriter, causing a smudge on the page or a crooked line. It wasn’t too over done (which would have read as just sloppy editing), but just enough to be considered artistic. Also, this zine feels nice to hold—the paper is some type of thick fabric blend. Which is quite nice.

–Theodore Grahams

Leave a Reply

